Royals to honor Minors award winners on Friday

Royals to honor Minors award winners on Friday

MINNEAPOLIS -- Most of the Royals' top award winners, as players and pitchers of the year at their Minor League affiliates, will be honored at Futures Night before Friday's 7:10 p.m. CT game against the Angels at Kauffman Stadium.

Excused, of course will be the Triple-A honorees, outfielder Wil Myers and right-hander Jake Odorizzi, who are involved with Omaha in the Pacific Coast League championship series. The Storm Chasers will meet the Reno Aces on Friday night at Omaha with the best-of-five series tied, 1-1.

The award winners will participate in an autograph session from 5:30 to 6:15 p.m. at Gate A near the Royals Hall of Fame prior to the pregame ceremony.

Earlier on Friday, the group will visit patients at the University of Kansas Hospital from 9:10 to 10:15 a.m. and tour the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum from 10:30 to 11:15 a.m.

This year's players and pitchers of the year are:

Omaha (Triple-A) -- OF Wil Myers, RHP Jake Odorizzi.

Northwest Arkansas (Double-A) -- SS-2B Christian Colon, RHP Michael Mariot.

Wilmington (Class A-Advanced) -- IF-OF Whit Merrifield, RHP Yordano Ventura.

Kane County (Class A) -- OF Jorge Bonifacio, RHP Angel Baez.

Idaho Falls (Rookie-Advanced) -- OF Ethan Chapman, LHP Sam Selman.

Burlington (Rookie) -- OF Bubba Starling, LHP Colin Rodgers.

Surprise (Rookie) -- OF Alexis Rivera, LHP Matt Tenuta.

Dominican (Rookie) -- IF Wander Franco, RHP Miguel Almonte.