{}
CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

{"content":["replay" ] }

White Sox gain on pair of reviews vs. Royals

|
White Sox gain on pair of reviews vs. Royals play video for White Sox gain on pair of reviews vs. Royals

CHICAGO -- The Royals challenged an out call on Jarrod Dyson, who led off the fifth inning of a 7-1 win over the White Sox on Tuesday night with a grounder that sent second baseman Gordon Beckham onto the grass for a nice stop.

Beckham whirled and threw quickly to first baseman Paul Konerko, and Dyson was called out. After an instant replay review in New York, first-base umpire Andy Fletcher's call was allowed to stand.

In the fifth, the White Sox challenged that Alexei Ramirez was safe at second after he was picked off first base by Bruce Chen. Ramirez used his patented swim move to avoid the tag of shortstop Alcides Escobar, and video replay overturned the out call to give Ramirez a stolen base. Ramirez was doubled off second on Conor Gillaspie's ensuing line drive to Escobar.

With the game tied in the sixth, Billy Butler and Raul Ibanez doubled off of White Sox starter Scott Carroll to give the Royals a 2-1 lead. Alcides Escobar followed with a perfectly placed bunt single to put runners on the corners with none out.

Carroll made a seemingly innocent throw to first baseman Konerko to keep Escobar close, but replays showed that Escobar's hand jammed on Konerko's foot and he appeared to be out. Ventura came out after Escobar had taken time to check on his hand, but home-plate umpire and crew chief Mike Winters did not go to the review because replay regulations stipulate that a manager must initiate a challenge prior to the pitcher taking his place on the rubber, and the batter entering the box.

"I noticed he went back weird, like I thought he hurt his hand," Carroll said. "I thought the play was close, but I didn't know if the replay showed he was out or safe, but if it was something they couldn't review, I don't know. It looked close."

"That was a weird one," White Sox manager Robin Ventura said. "They called down and said he was out. By that time, the guy is already in the box. But Paulie didn't even notice it either. It wasn't one of those ones where a guy is waving you out."

Dick Kaegel is a reporter for MLB.com. Scott Merkin is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Merk's Works, and follow him on Twitter @scottmerkin. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{"content":["replay" ] }
{"content":["replay" ] }
Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español