Now Commenting On:

{"content":["replay" ] }

Twins lose challenge, Gardy gets ejected

After replay review, umpires rule sliding catch by Royals' Gordon stands

Twins lose challenge, Gardy gets ejected play video for Twins lose challenge, Gardy gets ejected

KANSAS CITY -- Twins manager Ron Gardenhire unsuccessfully challenged a play in the third inning of Tuesday's 2-1 win over the Royals and was ejected by home-plate umpire Ted Barrett for arguing the call after the review.

With Brian Dozier at first base and two outs in the third, Chris Parmelee hit a sinking line drive to left field that was originally ruled a sliding catch by left fielder Alex Gordon to the end the inning.

But Gardenhire challenged the play, as it appeared that Gordon trapped the ball. After a lengthy review, the play on the field stood, and Gardenhire came out to argue with Barrett.

Gardenhire was ejected as a result, marking the fourth time this season he's been thrown out of a game. Gardenhire also leads active managers with 71 career ejections.

"I just wanted to go out there and see what happened," Gardenhire said. "I came in here and looked at it and I don't get it. I didn't get an explanation and I think that's something managers want. I know they don't want it to go on any longer but it goes on long enough. We saw it plain as day and they showed it on the Jumbotron plain as day. So I was just looking for an explanation and he threw me out really quick."

Gardenhire wasn't alone in assuming the call would be overturned, as Dozier wasn't sure if he'd be placed at third base or if the umpires would rule that he would've scored on the play. Instead, to the surprise of the Twins, the call stood and the inning ended.

"We all thought it hit the ground," Dozier said. "But I guess they saw something different. We thought it was for sure going to be a single. But I was thinking whether I should put my helmet on because I wasn't sure if I'd be at third. But I guess we were wrong on both accounts."

Royals manager Ned Yost joined the challenge action in the sixth inning after Eduardo Nunez was ruled safe on a stolen base. Shortstop Alcides Escobar seemed to think he'd tagged Nunez before he got to the bag but, upon review, the call stood.

Rhett Bollinger is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Bollinger Beat, and follow him on Twitter @RhettBollinger. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{"content":["replay" ] }
{"content":["replay" ] }
Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español