CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

{"content":["replay" ] }

Fuld's fantastic assist confirmed by replay

Fuld's fantastic assist confirmed by replay play video for Fuld's fantastic assist confirmed by replay

OAKLAND -- Umpires used a crew-chief review to confirm a stellar double play executed by A's outfielder Sam Fuld and catcher Derek Norris during Oakland's 8-3 win over the Royals on Saturday.

With runners on the corners and one out in the fourth inning, Royals third baseman Mike Moustakas lifted a ball to center field. After making the catch, Fuld delivered a big, full-body throw that caused him to leave his feet, and it arrived in time for Norris to nab Alex Gordon at home.

"I thought I had made a good slide, but he obviously tagged me before I got to the plate. Sam Fuld made a great throw. To throw it from there on a line, for a strike, it's a good play," said Gordon.

The double play ended the inning and kept Oakland's deficit at 1-0.

Royals manager Ned Yost came out of the dugout to speak with the umpires after the play, and crew chief Hunter Wendelstedt initiated a review to see if Norris was blocking the plate. Though Norris crept up the third-base line a bit to make the catch, replay officials in New York determined that he made a legal play.

The A's went on to score eight runs in the fifth inning, providing plenty of support for southpaw Jon Lester, who gave up three runs in 6 2/3 innings to post a quality start in his much-anticipated Oakland debut.

Alex Espinosa is a contributor to MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{"content":["replay" ] }
{"content":["replay" ] }